Friday, May 21, 2010

A Flood of New Music

Heaven is whenever we can get together; sit down on your floor, and listen to your records...(The Hold Steady - Heaven is Whenever)

Early this year I was disappointed in the lack of new interesting music and I wrote about it in 2010: What's In Store. Then a few cds began to trickle out, like the terrific Broken Bells debut. Now the trickle has became a flood. Here is a list of new releases and future new releases:

  • The Dead Weather - Sea of Cowards
  • The Hold Steady - Heaven is Whenever
  • The New Pornographers - Together
  • Band of Horses - Infinite Arms
  • The Sadies - Darker Circles
  • John Prine - In Person & Onstage (Tuesday, May 25)
  • Tom Petty & the Heartbreakers - Mojo (June 15)
  • John Mellencamp - On the Rural Route 7609 (Box Set) (June 15)
  • The Gaslight Anthem - American Slang (June 15)
  • Broken Hearts & Dirty Windows: Songs of John Prine (June 22)
  • Alejandro Escovedo - Street Songs of Love (June 29)
  • Los Lobos - Tin Can Trust (August 3)

In addition to these, U2's Songs of Ascent and the Darkness on the Edge of Town box set from Bruce Springsteen are expected some time this year. 2010 is shaping up after all.

No comments:

Post a Comment